Warriors’ Noah Gregor added to Team WHL

Marc Smith

The Western Hockey League, in association with the Canadian Hockey League, announced today that forward Noah Gregor (Moose Jaw Warriors) has been added to Team WHL’s roster for the 2017 CIBC Canada Russia Series, which begins Monday, November 6 in Moose Jaw, Sask.

He will replace forward Tyler Benson (Vancouver Giants) who recently made his season debut after returning from a lower-body injury October 27.

Gregor, a San Jose Sharks selection in the fourth-round (111th) of the 2016 NHL Draft, is fifth in scoring for the Warriors this season with 18 points (8G-10A) in 13 games.

A product of Beaumont, Alta., the 6-foot-0, 188-pound Gregor was originally a third-round selection, 55th overall, of the Victoria Royals in the 2013 WHL Bantam Draft. In 147 career WHL regular season games, all with the Warriors, Gregor has 158 points (65G-93A) as well as 72 penalty minutes. Of his 65 goals, 23 have come on the power play while 12 have been game-winners.

Gregor comes to Team WHL with international experience, having represented Canada at the IIHF World U18 Championship in 2016, where he had two assists in seven games. Adding Gregor to the roster gives the Warriors two players on this year’s Team WHL. Warriors captain and Tampa Bay Lightning prospect Brett Howden is serving as part of the team’s leadership group led by Kelowna Rockets forward and Calgary Flames draft pick Dillon Dube.

The six-game series features regional league teams of Canadian National Junior Team candidates competing against the Russian National Junior Team. For the fourth straight season, the event will open with two games in the WHL.

Team WHL will face Team Russia in Game 1 of the 2017 CIBC Canada Russia Series in Moose Jaw, Sask., on Monday, November 6, before continuing on to Swift Current, Sask., for Game 2 on Tuesday, November 7. The Ontario Hockey League will host Games 3 and 4, while the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League will welcome the festivities surrounding Games 5 and 6.

The 2017 CIBC Canada Russia Series is supported by title sponsor CIBC, the Official Bank of the CHL, along with associate sponsors Cooper Tires and Sherwin-Williams. All games will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet and TVA Sports.

2017 CIBC Canada Russia Series Schedule:
Game 1 – Monday November 6 at Moose Jaw, SK
Game 2 – Tuesday November 7 at Swift Current, SK
Game 3 – Thursday November 9 at Owen Sound, ON
Game 4 – Monday November 13 at Sudbury, ON
Game 5 – Tuesday November 14 at Charlottetown, PE
Game 6 – Thursday November 16 at Moncton, NB

More News
The Series - EP13 - Team Canada
7 months ago
The Series - EP12 - Selection Camp
7 months ago
Host clubs donate over $35,000 to cancer charities
7 months ago
CIBC Canada Russia Series Reflections
7 months ago
Team OHL Warmup with Akil Thomas
7 months ago
Team QMJHL Warmup with Shawn Element
7 months ago